Intro to Research

This module is about Gateway Library’s databases and how to use them.

In module 4a, we began to learn about tips and techniques for using databases to find information in the research process. In this module you’ll learn specifically about Gateway’s databases and be exposed to the search interfaces of the three most used databases: Credo Reference, EBSCOhost, and Gale database collections.  

Credo Reference is a great database for gathering background information and developing your topic, so visit it soon after you receive your assignment.  EBSCOhost and Gale host many of our other databases, and have popular and scholarly sources. Be sure to take time getting familiar with these databases as they contain a lot of great information. Learning about the database interfaces and how to maximize your search techniques will help you search more effectively and save time!

By the end of this tutorial, you’ll be able to understand: 

• What library databases are and why you should use them
• The Credo Reference, Ebsco, and Gale interfaces
• How to sort and limit search results to address your information need

Concepts from the module

• Library databases = online collections of credible information accessed by a search algorithm, they provide access to multiple journals from academic publishers which aren't indexed by regular search engines; library databases access credible information and are free for you to use, as access is paid for by your college library
• Notetaking = recording information while reading research material; your notes should include:
  • The type of source and a complete bibliographic citation in the appropriate style
  • Properly differentiated quotes, summaries, and paraphrases from the article with page or part numbers
  • Analysis of how the content relates to your research question and other sources
  • A summary of the article and ideas about how to integrate the information into your research product

Vocabulary from the module

• Academic article = an article that follows standards used in scholarly journals, formatted to include an abstract, introduction, literature review, methodology, findings, interpretations, and conclusions. Generally not intended to be read from first word to last, there are tips to help you navigate academic articles
• Credo Reference = a database collection of over 1000 reference resources. Use a single search to find information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, and other general and discipline specific reference sources
• Ebsco = a database platform that can search various general and specific databases simultaneously; all Ebsco products share the same user experience of the search and results page, as well as the tools and options available when navigating your results
• Gale = a database platform that can search various general and specific databases simultaneously; all Gale products share the same user experience of the search and results page, as well as the tools and options available when navigating your results
• General database = a library database with resources across many disciplines or areas of study
• Refining search results = using sort and filter functions on the database results page to eliminate useless resources and organize the remaining resources based on selected sort criteria. Filter options include:
  • Defining a date range
  • Full text - selects for resources that are immediately and completely accessible
  • Peer-reviewed - retains only those resources that are peer-reviewed, scholarly, refereed, or otherwise vetted by other scholars
• Specific database = a library database that co-locates resources within designated disciplines or areas of study