Intro to Research

This module is about databases and how to search them effectively.

In module 3, we explored developing your topic into a manageable research question. In this module we’ll begin to learn about locating information in databases. Don't worry, this is where the library staff can help you the most if you are struggling with this part of the process and hopefully this module will get you off to a great start.

Using databases is different than conducting a search on the internet due to paywalls and the mechanics of the search itself. So, what exactly is a database? How do you search one? What do you search for? How do you navigate the overwhelming results? You need to use library resources for your college research projects; this module will show you tools, tips, and tricks to using any database that will make your searches more effective and efficient!

Module 4b introduces you to the databases offered by Gateway and how to use them. Between the two modules, you'll understand all you need to know to begin locating information for your research projects while at Gateway!

By the end of this tutorial, you’ll be able to understand: 

• Where to find the best content
• What a database is 
• The relationship between articles, journals, databases, and database platforms
• Keywords and Subject Terms
• How to sort and limit search results to suit your information need

Concepts from the module

• Information seeking = a set of behaviors used to locate materials to satisfy a specific information need
• Searching =  the recursive process of inputting search terms and using various techniques to find evidence to support discussion of a question or thesis for a research project

Vocabulary from the module

• Article = a paper written by a scholar to document and share the findings of their research
• Boolean operators = words used when searching a database to narrow of broaden by defining how your search terms relate to each other; Boolean operators are the words "AND", "OR", and "NOT" written in all capitals.
• Database = a structured collection of information accessed by computers, the contents of which are delivered via a user interface. Search engines such as Google have databases of index terms harvested from publicly accessible sites, in contrast to library databases (see "Library database" below)
• Database platform = a tool that allows you to search multiple databases at once; identified with specific vendors with unique user interfaces, frequently used platforms include Ebsco, Gale, Infobase, and ProQuest
• Journal = A collection of scholarly articles and content; similar in structure to magazines, which are collections of popular content, the contents of a journal are generated by researchers for other scholars in the same field
• Keywords = important words or phrases, synonyms, and antonyms from your research topic that you will use when searching databases for evidence to support the discussion in your research project
• Peer-review = the part of the Scholarly Communication Cycle in which an author's peers review the content of their article to verify that it follows professional best- practices and advances the scholarly conversation in their field of expertise
• Phrasing = the use of quotation marks around words, phrasing is a technique that tells the search algorithm to use the exact spelling (1+ words) in the exact order shown (2+ words); "OutKast" is an example of one word phrasing to search an exact term that otherwise would return results for outcast; "world peace" is a multi word example that would otherwise return results that include world and/or peace
• Search engine = a program (algorithm) such as Google, that harvests publicly accessible content on the Internet to provide quick, easy access to information. Search engines use assumptions to contextualize and interpret your search. While they are free for users, they are ad support and have paid sponsorships that can introduce bias and inaccuracies
• Subject terms = a selection of tags or index terms used by scholarly publishers and database platforms to help you find content by topical subject, rather than returning only results that include your keywords
• Truncation = using a symbol (usually the * symbol) after the root of a word to simultaneously search a set of related words; searching for geolog* searches for geologia, geologic, geological, geologist, geology, etc.