Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide: Finding Permanent Links to Articles in Gateway Databases

This guide will help Gateway instructors find the permanent links in various databases so they can easily share articles with their students.

What is a Permanent Link?

What is a Permanent Link?

A permanent link in a database can also be called a permalink, digital object identifier (DOI), durable link, persistent link, stable link, or document link. This url will link directly to any full-text article or article citation within a database.  These links will help you share articles you wish your students to read via email, chat, or even linked in your Blackboard course. Please see the LibGuide about linking to articles in Blackboard.

 

Please Note

  • Each vendor will have a different way to find the permanent URL within the database. This guide will show you how to find the permanent link to an article within each database in which the Gateway Library subscribes. This isn't an exhaustive list so if you have further questions, please contact the library for assistance.
  • When copying the link, make sure that one or all of the words "KCTCS", "Gateway", "Proxy" is a part of the URL string. This will ensure that the students will be taken to either a login screen to access the article, or if they have already used the single sign-in, they will be taken directly to the article.
    • EBSCO databases automatically add a proxy prefix to the permanent link. This provides access to students who are off campus.  Other databases do not automatically do this.  Make sure to add the Gateway proxy prefix to your permalink:  https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Gateway?url=

 

Gateway Databases

Credo Reference

  1. Search or browse for your desired topic within the CREDO Reference database. credo reference logo
  2. Click on the article of your choice.
  3. Once in the article, find the "Page Link" icon at the top of the page. undefined
  4. In the new window that opens, copy and paste the url into the format of your choosing.

       Example of proxy link in Credo

EBSCOhost

  1. Conduct your search within the EBSCOhost database of your choosing and click on the title of the desired article.Logo - Link to Search
  2. Each article has a many options, including a permalink within its record which is the last option in this image. EBSCO options within articles including permalink
  3. Once you click on the Permalink option, a box will appear at the top of the article, you will be able to copy and paste the URL directly into the format of your choosing. undefined

Gale Databases

  1. Conduct a search in the GALE database of your choosing. Gale
  2. Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
  3. Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the page. Gale Get Link Image
  4. You can then copy and paste this URL into the format of your choosing.

       

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

  1. Browse the topics or search for the desired article within Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. opposing viewpoints logo
  2. Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
  3. Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the article.        undefined
  4. Copy and paste the link into the format of your choosing.

        undefined

Permanent Links in ProQuest

  • Conduct your search in the search bar on the homepage of ProQuest
  • Find your desired article to share and click on the title
  • Look to the top right of the screen and choose the circle that says "All Options"

 

  • You will see at the top the permanent link for that article                                           undefined
  • Copy and Paste the link into the desired field in the LMS or elsewhere