Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases at Gateway Community and Technical College

How to get the most from databases for your research at Gateway

Database Basics

Image on a young man of color in a yellow shirt above the label All Library Databases A to ZThe library has subscriptions with several database companies that offer access to about 20k periodicals and 250k eBooks, plus videos, music, and other resources.  Each company has resources for many different fields of study, so if your instructor hasn't specified a database or provider, explore several of them to find the one that best matches your search style and your information requirements.

We also subscribe to a digital reference database, Credo Reference, that hosts more than 250 encyclopedias and handbooks with over 3 million entries ranging from general information to highly specialized subject areas. This is a fantastic place to collect background information at the beginning of your project!

You may have heard of Ebsco, Gale, or ProQuest; these are the companies that curate the databases to which we subscribe.  Each vendor has its own user interface; understanding how to use this interface is one of the keys to effectively locating resources and we'll deal with each one individually. 

From the All Databases A-Z page, you can find and search an individual database or use an aggregated search interface, which searches all of that vendor's databases. The aggregated searches are Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) and Academic OneFile (Gale/Cengage); they are at the top of the alphabetical list and are also featured in 'Popular Databases' in the right sidebar.