Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide: Using Permanent Links in Blackboard and Ultra

Please read the guide about permanent links for more information! This guide will help instructors add permanent links found in Gateway databases to their courses in Blackboard and Ultra.

Why use permanent links in Blackboard or Ultra?

Why use permanent links in your courses on Blackboard and Ultra?

The Gateway Library has many resources available to faculty and students why not make the most of them?

Instructors can find required or supplemental readings in both scholarly and popular publications to share with their students to enhance their lesson plans.  Students will be connected directly to the article and the tools made available within many of database interfaces including: accessible feature such text to audio, information management tools, and citation tools to help students properly cite the articles they use in which they found or were referred to in the databases.

Please Note

  • If you are unfamiliar with permanent links, please see the guide on how to find permanent links for more information.
  • Generally the Fair Use exception in copyright law allows for instructors to share copies of articles with students without violating copyright law.
  • EBSCO databases automatically add a proxy prefix to the permanent link. This provides access to students who are off campus.  Other databases do not automatically do this.  Make sure to add the Gateway proxy prefix to your permalink:  https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Gateway?url=

How to add permanent links

Adding Links in Blackboard

Step 2 below is where you would add a permanent url to Gateway database articles or eBooks.

From Create a Web Link from Blackboard Help:

You can embed a web link so it appears as a standalone piece of content alongside other materials. For example, you can add a link to a website with the required reading you list in the syllabus.

Be sure Edit Mode is ON so you can access all of the instructor's functions.

  1. In a content area, learning module, lesson plan, or folder, select Build Content to access the menu and select Web Link.
  2. Type a name and paste or type the URL. Use the http:// protocol, such as http://www.myinstitution.edu/.
  3. Type an optional description. You can use the functions in the editor to embed content in your text and add formatting. You have creative control over how your content appears and the flexibility to change the order and appearance when you want.
     
  4. Select Browse My Computer to upload a file from your computer. The file is saved in the top-level folder in your course's file repository: Course Files or the Content Collection. You can also attach a file from the repository.

    -OR-

    Drag files from your computer to the "hot spot" in the Attach Files area. If your browser allows, you can also drag a folder of files. The files may upload individually. If the browser doesn't allow you to submit the web link after you upload a folder, select Do not attach in the folder's row to remove it. You can drag the files individually and submit again.

    You won't be able to drag files to upload if your institution uses an older version of Blackboard Learn.

    You can use the file name or provide another name for the file.

  5. Select the appropriate options for availability, tracking, and display dates. Display dates don't affect a web link's availability, only when it appears.
  6. After you submit, the web link appears in the content list. You can change the content at any time. Open the web link's menu and select Edit.

Adding Links to Websites (Permalinks included)

Link to the Blackboard Ultra Help page: Link to Websites

On the Course Content page, you can add a link to a website you want students to access alongside other materials. For example, you can add a link to a website with the required reading listed in your syllabus.

Select the plus sign wherever you want to add the website information. In the menu, select Create to open the Create Item panel. Select Link. You can also expand or create a folder or learning module and add the link.

In the New Link panel, type a name and optional description. If you don't add a name for the link, New Link and the date appear to students on the Course Content page. Paste or type the URL and select the globe icon to preview the website. The link is hidden from students until you decide to show it. Select the visibility to change it. Select Save when you're finished.