LibGuides: SOC 101: Introduction to Sociology: Information Resources

Academic Journals

International Social Science Review
Essays, review essays & book reviews on all aspects of social science for an international community.
Journal of Social Psychology
Articles on experimental, empirical and field studies of groups, cultural effects, cross-national problems, language and ethnicity, cross-cultural notes and briefly reported replications and refinements.
Politics and the Life Sciences
Articles on the evolution of social behavior & politics & public policy on issues important to the life sciences.

eBooks and Chapters

The Future of Cultural Analysis by Murat Aydemir (Editor); Noa Roei (Editor); Aylin Kuryel (Editor)
ISBN: 9789048559794

Publication Date: 2025-01-03

Across the humanities and the social sciences, “cultural analysis” is a vibrant research practice. Since its introduction in the 1990s, its main principles have remained largely the same: interdisciplinarity, political urgency, a heuristic use of concepts, the detailed analysis of objects of culture, and an awareness of the scholar’s situatedness in the present. But is the practice still suited to the spiraling of social, political, and environmental crises that mark our time?
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by Nicholas Abercrombie; Stephen Hill; Bryan S. Turner
ISBN: 9780141013756

Written by three eminent professors, it has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years, making it the most comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date dictionary available. It is essential reading for all students and teachers of sociology and other related courses - and also the general reader.
The Public and Their Platforms by Lambros Fatsis; Mark Carrigan
ISBN: 9781529201062

Publication Date: 2021-06-09

As social media is increasingly becoming a standard feature of sociological practice, this timely book rethinks the role of these mediums in public sociology and what they can contribute to the discipline in the post-COVID world. It reconsiders the history and current conceptualizations of what sociology is, and analyzes what kinds of social life emerge in and through the interactions between ‘intellectuals’, ‘publics’ and ‘platforms’ of communication. Cutting across multiple disciplines, this pioneering work envisions a new kind of public sociology that brings together the digital and the physical to create public spaces where critical scholarship and active civic engagement can meet in a mutually reinforcing way.
Sociology by Stephanie Alexander; Christine Poolos (Editor)
ISBN: 9781622755578

Publication Date: 2015-12-30

Sociology, the study of human behavior in social groups, is a relatively recent discipline within the social sciences, which examine human behavior, culture, and society using scientific methodology in both research and analysis. This resource explains the rise of the social sciences, in particular sociology, charting the history of the discipline and its founders. The key principles and fundamental theories are examined in detail, and the contemporary status of sociology and today's major players are noted. Readers will also learn the importance of methodology in sociology and all social sciences.
Sociology: Inquiries into the Construction of Social Forms by Mathew Kanjirathinkal (Edited and Translated by); Georg Simmel; Horst J. Helle (Contribution by); Anthony J. Blasi (Edited and Translated by); Anton K. Jacobs (Edited and Translated by)
ISBN: 9789004173217

Publication Date: 2009-02-23

Georg Simmel developed a "form" method for the newly revived field of sociology, drawing on the subjectivity/objectivity dialectic. While his book's organization differs from that of contemporary texts, his method remains implicit in the field to this day.
The Sociology of Knowledge Approach to Discourse by Reiner Keller (Editor); Anna-Katharina Hornidge (Editor); Wolf Schünemann (Editor)
ISBN: 9781351690614

Publication Date: 2018-08-06

The Sociology of Knowledge Approach to Discourse (SKAD) has reoriented research into social forms, structuration and processes of meaning construction and reality formation; doing so by linking social constructivist and pragmatist approaches with post-structuralist thinking in order to study discourses and create epistemological space for analysing processes of world-making in culturally diverse environments. SKAD is anchored in interpretive traditions of inquiry and allows for broadening – and possibly overcoming – of the epistemological biases and restrictions still common in theories and approaches of Western- and Northern-centric social sciences. An innovative volume, this book is exactly attentive to these empirically based, globally diverse further developments of approach, with a clear focus on the methodology and its implementation.
World of Sociology by Joseph M. Palmisano (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787650711

A comprehensive, subject-specific guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology. Coverage includes alphabetically arranged topical essays, definitions and biographies, intelligently organized and written in clear, concise and easy-to-understand language

Databases from our Collection

Academic OneFile (Gale)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Diversity Studies (Gale)

This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Gender Studies (Gale)

Access to articles with balanced coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay rights, homophobia, health aspects and more.
Sociological Collection (Ebsco)

Covers sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure. Select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!

Relevant Websites

The American Sociological Association, founded in 1905, is the national professional membership association for sociologists and others who are interested in sociology. ASA members include students, faculty working in a full range of institutions, and people working in government agencies and nonprofit and private sector organizations. ASA’s mission is to serve sociologists in their work, advance sociology as a science and profession, and promote the contributions and use of sociology to society.

Applied sociology translates foundational sociology to non-academic audiences. Clinical sociology incorporates translational with design, implementation, and evaluation interventions meant to improve outcomes and solve challenges. The Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS) promotes applying social scientific knowledge and methods to develop constructive solutions. We provide educational, programmatic, mentoring, networking, and policy resources in a supportive professional community.