Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
The American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus
The Handy English Grammar Answer BookThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the authority on the English language; it is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words.
Essential English Grammar by 
Grammar: a Pocket Guide by The Handy English Grammar Answer Book
Writing Clearly by 
Better Writing by
Using casual language and a straightforward approach, Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas provides students with an easy-to-read and effective guide for developing their writing skills. Rather than intimidate and overwhelm novice writers with vast sets of rules, Travis Koll utilizes simple and relatable explanations and examples to demystify the writing process. Armed with this better understanding, one that reaches far beyond the mere mechanics of punctuation and grammar, students can begin to recognize the true nature and significance of writing, its potential impact on their readers, and the importance of their voices in their communities and the world
A Student's Writing Guide by
Are you struggling to meet your coursework deadlines? Finding it hard to get to grips with your essay topics? Does your writing sometimes lack structure and style? Would you like to improve your grades? This text covers everything a student needs to know about writing essays and papers in the humanities and social sciences. Starting from the common difficulties students face, it gives practical examples of all the stages necessary to produce a good piece of academic work: • interpreting assignment topics • drawing on your own experience and background • reading analytically and taking efficient notes • developing your argument through introductions, middles and conclusions • evaluating and using online resources • understanding the conventions of academic culture • honing your ideas into clear, vigorous English. This book will provide you with all the tools and insights you need to write confident, convincing essays and coursework papers.
Writing Essays in English Language and Linguistics by
English language and linguistics shares many of its writing conventions with those of other disciplines, but there are certain features and expectations that distinguish it as a subject. This book is written specifically to help undergraduate students of English language and linguistics develop the art of writing essays, projects and reports. Written by an author with over 30 years'experience of lecturing in the subject, it is a comprehensive and very readable resource and contains numerous discipline-related examples, practice exercises and an answer key. It includes chapters on referencing (including plagiarism, paraphrase and guidance on referencing styles), stylistic issues that often get overlooked, and writing a dissertation. The book offers practical guidance and a layout that guides students as they work though their project. It will be an invaluable reference tool that students can read cover to cover or dip into as and when required.
10 Steps to Successful Business Writing, 2nd Edition by
In Today's Business World, You Are What You WriteGood writing can launch a career. It has the power to break through clutter and capture readers'imaginations. And good writing is not just a skill that marketers must master. Most workplace communication takes written form, and with the rising number of communication channels—social media, instant messaging, blogs—we're writing more and faster than ever. With new chapters on electronic communication, 10 Steps to Successful Business Writing is your guide to capturing readers'attention and imagination. Writing instructor and coach, Jack Appleman uses examples and exercises to help you write with clarity and confidence. This updated edition covers the essentials of how to organize your text to hold your readers'attention; edit yourself for grammar, tone, and excess words; and master the documents for any workplace situation.It doesn't matter if you're drafting a business plan, an email, or a Facebook post. Forget the shorthand, drop the exclamation points, and ditch the emojis. Learn to create concise, persuasive, and powerful text with 10 Steps to Successful Business Writing.
Can I Change Your Mind? by
These days, we all need the ability to argue a case effectively in writing. Drawing on his long experience as a leading copywriter, Lindsay Camp shows how it's done-whether the'end product'is a glossy magazine ad, a new business proposal, a page for the company website, or just a hasty email to your boss. Engaging, entertaining and-as you'd expect-highly persuasive, Can I Change Your Mind? will change the way you think about the words you use for ever.
The Handbook of Creative Writing by
The inspirational resource for tutors, students and other creative writing professionals, now in a new edition. 54 chapters cover the 3 central areas of writing creatively: theories of creativity; the craft of writing; and creative writing as a business. With contributions from over 50 experts - poets, novelists, dramatists, publishers, editors, tutors, critics and scholars - from the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada and Australia, this is the essential guide to writing, and getting published, in the English-speaking world. New for this edition: Chapters: on ‘indie publishing', ‘social media', ‘flash fiction', ‘song lyrics and poetry', ‘creative critical hybrids'& ‘collaboration in the theatre'Revised chapters on Making a Living as a Writer, Theories of Creativity, and Writing for the Web Chapters updated to reflect changes in teaching, copyright & earning a living as a writer Updated Glossary of Terms Key Features A 3-in-1 text with outstanding breadth and depth of coverage Grounds the subject of creative writing and provides writing-related tasks Full of examples of ways to approach and improve your writing Valuable practical advice on getting published & making a living from your writing.
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects by
While advanced practice nursing students generally have good clinical skills, many lack the clinical scholarship capabilities that are required for writing scholarly proposals. The only resource of its kind, this is a practical guide for MSN project students and DNP capstone students who must plan and organize their clinical projects into quality proposals. It provides the requisite guidelines for integrating research and best evidence with clearly communicated professional objectives. The book's 'how-to' approach helps to demystify the organization and packaging of advanced practice clinical projects into tight proposals.The text includes an overview of basic scholarly approaches required for professional communication that support a diverse array of clinical project topics.
The Psychologist's Companion by
The Psychologist's Companion, 4th edition, is intended to be a definitive guide to scientific writing for students and researchers. It covers a wealth of topics, including misconceptions about psychology papers, steps in writing library research papers, steps in writing experimental research papers, rules for writing psychology papers, commonly misused words, Internet resources, American Psychological Association guidelines for writing psychology papers, guidelines for data presentation, references for psychology papers, standards for evaluating psychology papers, submitting papers to journals, how to win acceptances of papers by psychology journals, writing grant and contract proposals, finding book publishers, writing lectures, and writing articles. The book contains a sample psychology paper as well as an appendix relevant to writing for British and European journals. The book is written in a lively and witty style that will make it easy reading for even the busiest students and professionals.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words by
Telling people about research is just as important as doing it. But many competent researchers are wary of scientific writing, despite its importance for sharpening scientific thinking, advancing their career, obtaining funding for their work and growing the prestige of their institution. This second edition of David Lindsay's popular book Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words presents a way of thinking about writing that builds on the way good scientists think about research. The simple principles in this book will help you to clarify the objectives of your work and present your results with impact. Fully updated throughout, with practical examples of good and bad writing, an expanded chapter on writing for non-scientists and a new chapter on writing grant applications, this book makes communicating research easier and encourages researchers to write confidently. It is an ideal reference for researchers preparing journal articles, posters, conference presentations, reviews and popular articles; for students preparing theses; and for researchers whose first language is not English.
Writing for the Workplace by
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.