Nursing

This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

This six volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: ·advanced practice nursing ·the nursing workforce ·nurse practitioners ·physician assistants ·certification and licensure ·psychiatric-mental health nursing ·rehabilitation ·nursing education and nursing students ·bioengineering nursing ·immunization for healthcare workers

Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases

6-page e-guide includes illustrated and labeled: Anterior Digestive System & Viscera Posterior Digestive System & VisceraLateral Mouth & Tongue Mouth & Throat Muscles Mouth, Tongue, Taste Buds Tooth Cross Section Mouth & Salivary Glands Small Intestine (Schematic), Large Intestine Stomach, Stomach & Pancreas Lymphatics Large Intestine Lymphatics Hepatic Portal Veins Liver, Gallbladder & Pancreas Liver Lobule (Micro)Pancreas Anterior Nervous System Ileocecal Sphincter & Appendix Rectum Esophagus, Stomach (Micro Cross Section)Small Intestine, Large Intestine (Micro Cross Section)

The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application.

The only book written about mechanical ventilation by nurses for nurses, this text fills a void in addressing high-level patient care and management specific to critical care nurses. Designed for use by practicing nurses, nursing students, and nursing educators, it provides a detailed, step-by-step approach to developing expertise in this challenging area of practice.

The popular Davis's Notes format makes sure that you always have the information you need close at hand to ensure your documentation is not only complete and thorough, but also meets the highest ethical and legal standards. You'll even find coverage of the nuances that are relevant to various specialties, including pediatric, OB/GYN, psychiatric, and outpatient nursing.

New at ECG interpretation? No need to go it alone—keep the basic skills and concepts at your fingertips, with ECG Interpretation: An Incredibly Easy!® Pocket Guide. Use this enjoyable reference for at-a-glance reviews of how to use and monitor ECG equipment, obtain and interpret rhythm strips, and accurately spot and treat arrhythmias

Nurses are required not only to keep pace with a swiftly changing health care environment and make rapid decisions on critical issues, they must also be cognizant of the legal implications of these decisions. This Fast Facts legal reference provides the quick, reliable legal information that nurses need to protect themselves in practice, management, and education.

Business Basics for Nurses is a practical guide that informs and expands thinking for nurses considering or already involved in business. Written to stimulate and enhance creative thinking and showcase how business acumen will make any nurse a better practitioner, author Suzanne Waddill-Goad establishes that the behind-the-scenes business of healthcare can be just as important as clinical care.

An authoritative guide to the legal and ethical issues faced daily by nurses, this handbook includes real-life examples and information from hundreds of court cases. It covers the full range of contemporary concerns, including computer documentation, workplace violence and harassment, needlesticks, telephone triage, pain management, prescribing, privacy, and confidentiality. An entire chapter explains step-by-step what to expect in a malpractice lawsuit.

Nurse-Led Health Clinics is the first book to describe innovative, nurse-managed solutions for improving health care today. It addresses the key business, policy, medical, financial, and operational considerations necessary for successfully opening and operating nurse-led health facilities.

This ideal starter text for student nurses in pharmacology is now into its 4th edition. It makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to safely and competently practice as a newly qualified nurse.

Now in its 17th Edition, Medications and Mothers'Milk, is the worldwide best selling drug reference on the use of medications in breastfeeding mothers. This book provides you with the most current, complete, and easy-to-read information on thousands of medications in breastfeeding mothers.

Get all the basics on drug therapies—and administer drugs confidently and accurately—with the newly updated Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy, 4th Edition

Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice.

The biggest barrier to effective evidence-based practice (EBP) is the failure to effectively translate available knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action This failure is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience. In fact, it usually comes down to a simple lack of tools and absence of a clear plan to integrate EBP into care. Problem solved! Evidence-Based Practice in Action, Second Edition, is a time-tested, application-oriented EBP resource of The Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a proven, detailed plan to help nurses and healthcare professionals promote and achieve EBP adoption and implementation.

Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated third edition will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to DONE. TABLE OF CONTENTS Chapter 1: Writing Your Introduction Chapter 2: Writing Your Literature Review Chapter 3: Writing Your Methodology Chapter Chapter 4: Writing Your Results Chapter Chapter 5: Writing Your Discussion Chapter Chapter 6: Writing Manuscript Option Dissertations Chapter 7: Writing Well: The Basics

This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of data analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency.

This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of historical analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency.

Talk Like a Nurse is ideal for ESL students in nursing and pre-nursing programs, as well as native English speakers eager to sharpen their nursing communications. --Publisher's description.

This book contains proven steps and strategies on how to understand, pronounce, and memorize medical terms using various methods. It also has tips and strategies that can help you apply these methods.

Medical English Dialogues Clear and simple medical English vocabulary for ESL/EFL learners

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

English-Chinese

The step-by-step, clearly structured format of Quick Medical Terminology makes it fully accessible, providing an easily understood, comprehensive overview. Like all Self-Teaching Guides, Quick Medical Terminology allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern.

Dr. Horace Gerald Danner's A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots is a compendium of the most-used word roots of the medical and health-care professions.

This book is a history of the medical vocabulary presented in topical (rather than dictionary) form. While most other books on medical words are arranged as dictionaries, rather than topically, and are much more selective in their presentation, this book entertains a comprehensive and historical approach to the subject. It is written primarily for physicians, biomedical scientists, and medical students, but should also appeal to anyone in the health professions or biological sciences with a feel for medical history and the English language