This guide will give you some resources that can be used for instruction or more information for students.
The box below contains two different tabs: Video Resources in Gateway Databases and Open Access Video Resources
When searching for educational video sources here are some criteria for verifying the credibility of the source:
Link to Small Business Reference Center
Choose Small Business Reference Center from the list of databases
You will see at the top of the screen in the blue bar a link for "Business Videos/Images"
Within most EBSCOhost databases, videos from the Associated Press are included in your search results.
When you click on the link that says "View All Results" you will be taken to a new screen where you can further limit your search by when the content was published or sort by most recent or oldest content. There is also a search bar at the top that will allow you to use other keywords to search only videos.
Click on the link for ProQuest Databases here.
You will see at the top of the search bar an option to search for videos and audio.
Open up the Gale Databases link and select "Search All Databases"
Conduct your search in the Gale Power Search Box
The search results will be listed by type at the top of the results. Choose the link for Videos.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive: Archived videos with many different topics to chose from. Free to use without permission.
Khan Academy: Mainly science and math videos. Free but must create an account to access.
ScienceCinema: U.S. Department of Energy multi-media videos highlighting scientific research.
TED Talks: Short, engaging lectures on many topics. TED Talks are available under the Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Non Derivative license. Usage policy here.
YouTube: to find videos with creative commons license, conduct your search, then click the “Filters” drop-down menu and select “Creative Commons”.
Hey! The Gateway Library has a few reference books on each campus, but most of our stuff is online. We’ve put you at the center of our library model instead of a big library building!
Here’s why our online collection rocks:
Check out the tabs in this box to find videos, books, articles, websites, and even test prep resources for your projects or studies. Our library staff and Gateway faculty picked these just for you.
Credo Reference is a database with more than 270 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks with 3.1 million entries that are linked and interconnected to create a knowledge network.
Check here for tips on using this search interface!
START HERE for an overview of the databases and links to the most-used databases; you'll also find instructions for how to search the databases and navigate your results!
Greetings! My name is Elizabeth Hartlaub. I have been the Director of Library and Information Services at Gateway since the Summer of 2020.
I have been a librarian for over 15 years with both public and academic library experience. Some professional positions I held prior to coming to Gateway are as follows:
~ Library Operations Manager - UC Blue Ash
~ Branch Manager - Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
I am originally from Cincinnati and attended Xavier University for my undergraduate degree in International Affairs. My career in libraries started when I worked as a Student Assistant at the XU Library!
I was a first generation college student and found that the library provided the academic support and empowerment I needed to succeed in my studies. This doesn't go without saying that I also had an amazing group of family, friends, and other academic support at the university to help me along the way. My advice to any student is that you are not alone as you work through your courses! Engage with your school and personal support system early and often!
A few years after I graduated from XU, I earned a Master's Degree in Library Science at Indiana University - Bloomington.
My favorite part of being a librarian is connecting with students and guiding them through the research and information literacy process. Research is one of my favorite parts of being a librarian and I feel very lucky to be able to do what I love and share that knowledge with others!
In my free time, I love hiking and playing outside with my two children, going to baseball games at Great American Ball Park, and gardening in my small-but-mighty backyard garden.
One fun fact about me is that I started learning French when I was in Kindergarten. I kept with it all the way through to earning a minor at XU. I have visited France three times, including living there for 6 months as a part of a study abroad opportunity. I am really rusty, but I think I can still carry on a conversation if needed.
Email: Elizabeth.Goodman@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-4162
Office Location: UB208 (in the TIE building)
Hello! My name is Erica Halsey. I am your Library Coordinator and spend my days at the Edgewood Campus, room E105A in the Student Services Center. I can help you learn how to find, access, and evaluate the information that you need to succeed at Gateway and beyond.
Before I became a librarian, I was an architect and an historical archaeologist. I renovate homes, and research history and genealogy for fun; I am interested in everything, so bring bring me your research questions and let's learn together! Email, call, or chat if I can help with your information needs.
Email: Erica.Halsey@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-4171
Office Location: E105A (within sight of the Info Commons desk at the Student Services Center)
** I'm the librarian closest to the Transportation Technology Center!
Priscilla Kapungu
Email: Priscilla.Kapungu@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-1163
Office Location: Boone Campus (CAM Building) Ground Floor B05
Hello, my name is Priscilla Kapungu I am your Library Specialist based at the Boone Campus.
I have 20 plus years of experience working in a special-public library at the Department of State's Harare Embassy as the Deputy director, for the Information Resource Center.
Before joining Gateway College I worked as a Customer Support Associate at Cengage Learning Group for four plus years.
One thing I enjoy in my line of work - Information Management, Program Evaluation, Interlibrary Linkages, Information Resources Literacy, is patrons and colleagues alike who are incredibly friendly and willing and ready to ask questions.
Fun fact about me is, I strongly believe in the the spirit of Ubuntu - namely “I am because we are…”
Hello. My name is Adam Thurman. I work as a leader at the Gateway Information Commons - usually at the Covington TIE campus - and also work broadly with the library to provide information literacy, outreach, and reference services to the classes I am embedded with.
I have worked at Gateway since 2015, receiving my MLIS from Wayne State University in Michigan, after leaving an internship at Xavier University's library. My primary areas of interest were and are how to best catalog, curate, and organize information to make it easy to learn from and use.
As you might expect, I enjoy reading and researching history for fun.
Please note that the best way to contact me is by email. If you need to meet in person, I will schedule an appointment by email. I try to reply to all emails made during the work week within 24 hours.
Given my role extends beyond traditional library services, I would encourage those who are embedded in my classes to contact me for more general questions, as well as research related ones: If I cannot find an answer for you, I can find someone who can!
Email: AThurman0026@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-1122
Office Location: UC - TIE Information Commons desk
