Gateway Library Guide
Below are two links to the NIOSH website that houses reports or case studies.
The last section of this page provides guidance for citing reports by a Government agency in APA.
There are more APA resources in this guide under "APA Resources", including how to format in-text citations.
Students who would like assistance with understanding the assignment, outlining, writing or proofreading, the Gateway tutors or the writing lab in Brainfuse are available to assist with these tasks. More information about these services are available in the section titled Writing Help.
FFFIPP Reports and Report Slides(2016 to present)
To find a report, there are two options.
1. Search BoxType in a desired keyword. The term "explosion" is used for this example. Tip: try to use only one or two words at a time. Reports will populate after clicking on the "search" icon or pressing enter Click the title of a report to view it. It will open in a new tab as a PDF. Or choose the "Download" option to download the PDF to your computer.
. 2. FiltersIf there is no specific keyword known, students can use the filters on the left side of the page to view reports based on "Geographic Location" or "Topics" Click in a box of interest and review the results to the right of the filters. Click on the title of a report to view it. Note: it is recommended to choose only one filter at a time to allow for the most results to populate.
Students wishing to access reports 2015 and before, follow the link below.CDC Stacks NIOSH reports 2015 and before |
Fire Fighter Fatality MapMake sure the "NIOSH" Investigations box is checked. Choose other desired data from relevant drop-down menus. The map will automatically update. The blue pins indicate a completed NIOSH Investigation. Click on a pin. A small information box will pop-up, click in the box that says "Report" to load the full report.
|
American Psychological Association. (2020). Report by a government agency. https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines/references/examples/report-government-agency-references
The Gateway Library has small reference collection of books on each campus for on-campus use only. The majority of the library collection is online.
This allows for:
Check out the tabs above to learn more about the Gateway Library. More information about a specific course or subject area can be located in the menu options on the left of the page.
Credo Reference is a database with more than 270 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks with 3.1 million entries that are linked and interconnected to create a knowledge network.
Check here for tips on using this search interface!
START HERE for an overview of the databases and links to the most-used databases; you'll also find instructions for how to search the databases and navigate your results!
Greetings! My name is Elizabeth Hartlaub. I have been the Director of Library and Information Services at Gateway since the Summer of 2020.
I have been a librarian for over 15 years with both public and academic library experience. Some professional positions I held prior to coming to Gateway are as follows:
~ Library Operations Manager - UC Blue Ash
~ Branch Manager - Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
I am originally from Cincinnati and attended Xavier University for my undergraduate degree in International Affairs. My career in libraries started when I worked as a Student Assistant at the XU Library!
I was a first generation college student and found that the library provided the academic support and empowerment I needed to succeed in my studies. This doesn't go without saying that I also had an amazing group of family, friends, and other academic support at the university to help me along the way. My advice to any student is that you are not alone as you work through your courses! Engage with your school and personal support system early and often!
A few years after I graduated from XU, I earned a Master's Degree in Library Science at Indiana University - Bloomington.
My favorite part of being a librarian is connecting with students and guiding them through the research and information literacy process. Research is one of my favorite parts of being a librarian and I feel very lucky to be able to do what I love and share that knowledge with others!
In my free time, I love hiking and playing outside with my two children, going to baseball games at Great American Ball Park, and gardening in my small-but-mighty backyard garden.
One fun fact about me is that I started learning French when I was in Kindergarten. I kept with it all the way through to earning a minor at XU. I have visited France three times, including living there for 6 months as a part of a study abroad opportunity. I am really rusty, but I think I can still carry on a conversation if needed.
Email: Elizabeth.Goodman@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-4162
Office Location: UB208 (in the TIE building)
Hello! My name is Luke Blasi, and I am a current MLIS student at Kent State. I earned my bachelor's degree in history from Xavier University in 2023. I have experience offering user-focused services in library, universities, and museums throughout my career. I am an avid reader and researcher myself, and I am eager to work with you all!
If you have any quick questions, please do not hesitate to come see me at the Edgewood IC Desk.
Priscilla Kapungu
Email: Priscilla.Kapungu@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-1163
Office Location: Boone Campus (CAM Building) Ground Floor B05
Hello, my name is Priscilla Kapungu I am your Library Specialist based at the Boone Campus.
I have 20 plus years of experience working in a special-public library at the Department of State's Harare Embassy as the Deputy director, for the Information Resource Center.
Before joining Gateway College I worked as a Customer Support Associate at Cengage Learning Group for four plus years.
One thing I enjoy in my line of work - Information Management, Program Evaluation, Interlibrary Linkages, Information Resources Literacy, is patrons and colleagues alike who are incredibly friendly and willing and ready to ask questions.
Fun fact about me is, I strongly believe in the the spirit of Ubuntu - namely “I am because we are…”
Hello. My name is Adam Thurman. I work as a leader at the Gateway Information Commons - usually at the Covington TIE campus - and also work broadly with the library to provide information literacy, outreach, and reference services to the classes I am embedded with.
I have worked at Gateway since 2015, receiving my MLIS from Wayne State University in Michigan, after leaving an internship at Xavier University's library. My primary areas of interest were and are how to best catalog, curate, and organize information to make it easy to learn from and use.
As you might expect, I enjoy reading and researching history for fun.
Please note that the best way to contact me is by email. If you need to meet in person, I will schedule an appointment by email. I try to reply to all emails made during the work week within 24 hours.
Given my role extends beyond traditional library services, I would encourage those who are embedded in my classes to contact me for more general questions, as well as research related ones: If I cannot find an answer for you, I can find someone who can!
Email: AThurman0026@kctcs.edu
Phone: 859-442-1122
Office Location: UC - TIE Information Commons desk
