LibGuides: MAI 105: Intro to Medical Assisting: Professional Publications/Databases

Academic/Professional Journals

AAMA - Legal Eye on Medical Assisting
Donald A. Balasa, JD, MBA, chief executive officer and legal counsel for the American Association of Medical Assistants, keeps his eye on what is happening in the profession:
Medical assistant scope-of-practice issues
Key legislation affecting the medical assisting profession and CMA (AAMA) credential
National health care initiatives, and much more
AAMA - Medical Assisting Today
Access articles from the most recent issue.
AAMA- Public Affairs Articles
In Medical Assisting Today, AAMA Chief Executive Officer and Legal Counsel Donald A. Balasa, JD, MBA, covers critical issues, such as the right to practice and recognition of the CMA (AAMA) credential.
American Journal of Public Health
Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.
Annals of Family Medicine
A peer-reviewed research journal that is dedicated to advancing knowledge essential to understanding and improving health and primary care, for those involved with health and generalist health care. Publishes essays on original research, methodology, and theory, as well as essays from clinicians, patients, families, communities, and policymakers.
Clinician Reviews
Designed to keep physician assistants and nurse practitioners abreast of the ever-changing, continually growing body of medical knowledge.

Career & Technical Education (ProQuest)

A definitive source for vocational information. Full-text articles for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
CINAHL® with Full Text (Ebsco)

Scholarly, full-text articles for nursing and the allied health professions dating from 1981 through current journal issues.
Credo Reference (Infobase)

Credo is a vast reference database with general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. with faceted searching cross-referenced with other library databases.
eBook Collection (Ebsco)

A collection of over 300,000 electronic books that cover a variety of subjects.
Health & Wellness (Gale)

A source of comprehensive health care content for the public that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
MEDLINE (Ebsco)

Authoritative medical information from the US National Library of Medicine on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale)

Useful resources for nursing and allied health researchers, including articles from journals and ebooks concerning the care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients.
Vocations and Careers (Gale)

From general career guides to highly specialized industry journals, this database has resources for finding or advancing your career through continuing education.