LibGuides: HIS 108: History of the US Through 1865: Locating Resources for History 102

Research Resources

The best place to start when searching for research resources is right here, at your

Gateway Library!

Databases from Our Collection

Our databases contain about 10 thousand scholarly journals, most of which are also peer-reviewed. Here is an annotated list of several of the databases that you might find useful!

Academic OneFile (Gale)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Credo Reference (Infobase)

Credo is a vast reference database with general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. with faceted searching cross-referenced with other library databases.
World History (Gale In Context)

Extensive coverage of world historical events; includes powerful primary sources, periodicals and newspapers, biographies, images, audio, and video multimedia sources.
World History (Gale OneFile)

Extensive coverage of world historical events; includes powerful primary sources, periodicals and newspapers, biographies, images, audio, and video multimedia sources.

eBooks from our Collection

American Civil War by Steven E. Woodworth
ISBN: 9781414430096

Provides historical information on the battlefield and homefront experience and the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature bring to life the experiences of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.
American Revolution by Linda Schmittroth; Mary Kay Rosteck; Stacy A. McConnell (Editor)
ISBN: 0787637920

This 4-vol. set supplies the in-depth information about the American Revolution that students and researchers need for class assignments and reports. Includes 2 volumes of biographies, an almanac, a volume of primary sources, and an index.
Daily Life of African Americans in Primary Documents by Herbert C. Covey (Editor); Dwight Eisnach (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440866654

This work takes readers on an insightful journey through the life experiences of African Americans over the centuries, capturing African American experiences, challenges, accomplishments, and daily lives, often in their own words.
The Encyclopedia of World History by Peter N. Stearns (Editor); William L. Langer
ISBN: 9780395652374

In addition to showcasing traditional facts of national leadership and state power, the Encyclopedia embraces social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, technology, and other vital but less often reported aspects of the human drama. Here is a chronicle not only of major political events but of ordinary people, covering shifts in the relationships between men and women, developments in leisure, and demographic currents. And for all periods there are summaries of global developments that cannot be captured in national or regional frameworks.
The Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914; World Eras, Vol. 9 by James Farr (Editor)
ISBN: 0787660469

Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914.

Sharing Links from Databases

Credo Reference

Search or browse for your desired topic within the CREDO Reference database.
Click on the article of your choice.
Once in the article, find the "Share" option at the top of the article. And click "Copy Link"
Copy and paste the url into the format of your choosing.

Please Note

Each vendor will have a different way to find the permanent URL within the database. This guide will show you how to find the permanent link to an article within each database in which the Gateway Library subscribes. This isn't an exhaustive list so if you have further questions, please contact the library for assistance.
When copying the link, make sure that one or all of the words "KCTCS", "Gateway", "Proxy" is a part of the URL string. This will ensure that the students will be taken to either a login screen to access the article, or if they have already used the single sign-in, they will be taken directly to the article.
- Some databases automatically add a proxy prefix to the permanent link. This provides access to students who are off campus.
- Other databases do not automatically do this. Make sure to add the Gateway proxy prefix to your permalink: https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Gateway?url=

EBSCOhost Permanent Links

Click the Share icon to open the available sharing options. (Left pointing arrow)

2. On the Share window, click Create Link to generate a direct link to the item.

4. Click the Copy to clipboard button and paste the link into an email, document, etc. to share it.

Gale Databases

Conduct a search in the GALE database of your choosing.
Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the page.
You can then copy and paste this URL into the format of your choosing.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Browse the topics or search for the desired article within Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints.
Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the article.
Copy and paste the link into the format of your choosing.

undefined

Permanent Links in ProQuest

Conduct your search in the search bar on the homepage of ProQuest
Find your desired article to share and click on the title
Look to the top right of the screen and choose the circle that says "All Options"

You will see at the top the permanent link for that article
Copy and Paste the link into the desired field in the LMS or elsewhere