LibGuides: HIS 102: World Civilization 1600-present: Research Resources

Research Resources

The best place to start when searching for research resources is right here, at your

Gateway Library!

Databases from Our Collection

Our databases contain about 10 thousand scholarly journals, most of which are also peer-reviewed. Here is an annotated list of several of the databases that you might find useful!

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Credo is a vast reference database with general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other resources, faceted searching, and cross-referencing with other library databases.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of world historical events; includes powerful primary sources, periodicals and newspapers, biographies, images, audio, and video multimedia sources.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of world historical events; includes powerful primary sources, periodicals and newspapers, biographies, images, audio, and video multimedia sources.

eBooks from our Collection

The Encyclopedia of World History by Peter N. Stearns (Editor); William L. Langer
ISBN: 9780395652374
In addition to showcasing traditional facts of national leadership and state power, the Encyclopedia embraces social and cultural developments, non-European history, women's history, religion, health, economics, technology, and other vital but less often reported aspects of the human drama. Here is a chronicle not only of major political events but of ordinary people, covering shifts in the relationships between men and women, developments in leisure, and demographic currents. And for all periods there are summaries of global developments that cannot be captured in national or regional frameworks.
The Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914; World Eras, Vol. 9 by James Farr (Editor)
ISBN: 0787660469
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914.
Places of Encounter: Since 1500 by Aran MacKinnon; Elaine McClarnand MacKinnon
ISBN: 9780813347394
Using a place-based approach by focusing on specific locations at critical historical moments of historical transformation, 'Places of Encounter' provides a unique alternative to world history anthologies or survey texts.
The Sea in World History: Exploration, Travel, and Trade [1450-1770] by Stephen K. Stein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440835513
This two-volume set documents the essential role of the sea and maritime activity across history, from travel and food production to commerce and conquest.- Provides a broad survey of the importance of the oceans for all of human culture and civilization, including coverage of diverse cultures such as the Polynesians, Vikings, Minoans, and many others- Describes the voyages of the great explorers and places them in a broad multinational and multicultural perspective- Traces the human use of the sea over time, noting activities and historic events such as piracy, the slave trade, fishing, and whaling, as well as describing commerce in ancient and modern contexts.
The Sea in World History: Exploration, Travel, and Trade [1750-present] by Stephen K. Stein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440835513
This two-volume set documents the essential role of the sea and maritime activity across history, from travel and food production to commerce and conquest.- Provides a broad survey of the importance of the oceans for all of human culture and civilization, including coverage of diverse cultures such as the Polynesians, Vikings, Minoans, and many others- Describes the voyages of the great explorers and places them in a broad multinational and multicultural perspective- Traces the human use of the sea over time, noting activities and historic events such as piracy, the slave trade, fishing, and whaling, as well as describing commerce in ancient and modern contexts.
The Unending Frontier by John F. Richards
ISBN: 9780520230750
It was the age of exploration, the age of empire and conquest, and human beings were extending their reach—and their numbers—as never before. In the process, they were intervening in the world's natural environment in equally unprecedented and dramatic ways. A sweeping work of environmental history, The Unending Frontier offers a truly global perspective on the profound impact of humanity on the natural world in the early modern period. John F. Richards identifies four broadly shared historical processes that speeded environmental change from roughly 1500 to 1800 c.e.: intensified human land use along settlement frontiers; biological invasions; commercial hunting of wildlife; and problems of energy scarcity.

Relevant Websites

Legal Documents by Date
Yale Law School Library's translated legal documents dated from 4000 bce to the 21st Century, organized by date.
Legal Documents by Subject
Yale Law School Library's translated legal documents dated from 4000 bce to the 21st Century, organized by subject categories.
Primary Sources from the World History Commons
Filter material by time or topic to find contextualized primary sources from all periods of history!
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Massive compendium of internet sources of documents on the Modern World from the Reformation to the 21st Century