Skip to Main Content

HIS 102: World Civilization 1600-present

Research Resources

The best place to start when searching for research resources is right here, at your

Gateway Library!

Databases from Our Collection

Our databases contain about 10 thousand scholarly journals, most of which are also peer-reviewed.  Here is an annotated list of several of the databases that you might find useful!

 

Primary Sources

Primary Sources can be found in some of the library databases listed above.

However, many can be found across the internet for free. Below are some links to suggested sites to get you started.

Also try your topic keywords with the term "primary sources" as an internet search and see what you can find from archives and museums from around the world. 

Depending on your topic, you may also find success in contacting a local public or historical library in the area of your topic for assistance wth their archived materials or access what has been digitized.

 

Websites for getting started with primary sources research

eBooks

Relevant Websites

Sharing Links in Databases

Credo Reference

  1. Search or browse for your desired topic within the CREDO Reference database.
  2. Click on the article of your choice.
  3. Once in the article, find the "Share" option at the top of the article. And click "Copy Link" 
  4. Copy and paste the url into the format of your choosing.

Please Note

  • Each vendor will have a different way to find the permanent URL within the database. This guide will show you how to find the permanent link to an article within each database in which the Gateway Library subscribes. This isn't an exhaustive list so if you have further questions, please contact the library for assistance.
  • When copying the link, make sure that one or all of the words "KCTCS", "Gateway", "Proxy" is a part of the URL string. This will ensure that the students will be taken to either a login screen to access the article, or if they have already used the single sign-in, they will be taken directly to the article.
    • Some databases automatically add a proxy prefix to the permanent link. This provides access to students who are off campus. 
    • Other databases do not automatically do this.  Make sure to add the Gateway proxy prefix to your permalink:  https://libproxy.kctcs.edu/Gateway?url=

EBSCOhost Permanent Links

 

 

  1. Click the Share icon to open the available sharing options. (Left pointing arrow)

 

 

2. On the Share window, click Create Link to generate a direct link to the item.

 

4. Click the Copy to clipboard button and paste the link into an email, document, etc. to share it.

 

 

 

Gale Databases

  1. Conduct a search in the GALE database of your choosing. 
  2. Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
  3. Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the page. Gale Get Link Image
  4. You can then copy and paste this URL into the format of your choosing.

       

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

  1. Browse the topics or search for the desired article within Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. 
  2. Click on the title of the article you wish to share.
  3. Click on the "Get Link" icon at the top of the article.        undefined
  4. Copy and paste the link into the format of your choosing.

        undefined

Permanent Links in ProQuest

  • Conduct your search in the search bar on the homepage of ProQuest
  • Find your desired article to share and click on the title
  • Look to the top right of the screen and choose the circle that says "All Options"

 

  • You will see at the top the permanent link for that article                                           undefined
  • Copy and Paste the link into the desired field in the LMS or elsewhere