ANT 160: Cultural Diversity in the Modern World

Reference Entry

The citation for a video follows the same general citation rules used in APA 7, including the fact that you do NOT put any database information unless the resource is unique to the database.  Since the videos linked below are not exclusive to this database, the citation will be:

Director, D. D. (Director). (Date of publication). Title of motion picture [Film]. Production company.

For example:

Ontiveros, J. (Director). (2013). Lowcura: The creation of family in Chicano lowrider car clubs [Film]. University of Southern California, MVA Collection.

In-Text Citations

When you use a quote from a video, you must use a page/part identifier in your in-text citation! Also, while APA doesn't require that you include the part identification in your in-text citation for summaries and paraphrases, it is highly recommended.  All you need to do in either situation is to use the time stamp at which the material begins in place of the page number in a standard in-text citation; this is particularly easy for the videos in this service, since the time stamp is shown in the transcript!  For example, a parenthetical in-text citation from the video listed above would look like this:

Lowriding culture was an apt expression of the "radicalism and eccentricity that would later become [San Francisco's]... signature characteristics" (Ontiveros, 2013, 8:50).

The citation still uses the (author, date, format but adds the time stamp 8:50) in place of the page number to identify the location in the source that you found the information. 

Please be sure to listen carefully to the video and compare the transcript to the the audio; these transcripts are computer generated and do have errors! In the section quoted above, the transcript used "seen" instead of "scene".  In that case, the audio of the original is always correct, so quality check the transcript as if you were creating a transcript from scratch using the original audio material.

The Leiden University Visual Ethnography collection features dozens of master’s projects produced around the world in the past decade. These ethnographic films build on the legacy of the longest running visual ethnography program in the Netherlands. Originating in the 1960s under Adriaan Gerbrands, whose combination of visual methods, material culture studies, and cultural anthropology anticipate many of the multimodal endeavors developing at the university today. [English subtitles]

* * * * * * *   Scroll down in the viewer window see the videos in the channel   * * * * * * *

Simply reload  this page to return to the channel menu from any video.

Maximize the viewer  to see full video controls, including a searchable transcript of the video!

Anthropological research builds upon itself across generations, with teacher-student relationships propelling scholarship forward. Just as Margaret Mead learned from Ruth Benedict and Timothy Asch learned from Margaret Mead, today’s generation of visual ethnographers continues to build on the work of their predecessors. Volume IV provides a space for visual anthropologists of today to showcase and disseminate their most compelling work. With a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals, this newly released content will capture students’ attention by connecting them with topics familiar to their own time and place.

* * * * * * *   Scroll down in the viewer window see the videos in the channel   * * * * * * *

Simply reload  this page to return to the channel menu from any video.

Maximize the viewer  to see full video controls, including a searchable transcript of the video!