Skip to Main Content

Psychology

Contains eBooks, databases, journals, and websites related to psychology studies at Gateway.

Introduction

Gateway Library welcomes you to the Psychology LibGuide, a resource for those studying psychology programs.  Here you will find eBooks, databases, journals, and websites related to pyschology courses here at Gateway. You will also find access to Librarian created video tutorials to assist you in learning how to navigate Gateway Databases, learn about Information Literacy and Assignment specific tutorials. Each of these resources has its own page, which you can find below the "Home" page. Additionally, on this page you will find an assignment planning calculator, links to style guides for citation, and a thesis generator tool to assist you in your general research needs.

General Services

Library Tutorials

Here you will find self-paced video and print tutorials on how to find and use the resources available to you through the Gateway Library, as well as how to perform all the proper steps in the research process.

Citation and Style Guides

Here you will find information on how to properly utilize the two citation styles used within Gateway classes, as well as example papers and other related resources.

Contact us!

Go to the link above to find our contact information, a direct link to chat with us during business hours, and several other ways to submit questions. Don't be shy! As as student, asking questions is your job!

 
***Adapted from Ashford University***

State your topic

Your topic is the essential idea of your paper. It is usually a few words or a phrase that summarizes the subject of your paper. For your thesis statement, try to make your topic as specific as possible.

State your main idea about this topic

What are you trying to state or prove about your topic? What are you trying to persuade the reader to believe? When stating your opinion, be sure to:

  • express one major ideal
  • name the topic and assert something specific about it
  • take a stance on an issue that you can support with facts and reasons.
  • state your position on or opinion about the issue.

Give a reason that supports your main idea

Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Give another reason that supports your main idea

Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Give one more reason that supports your main idea

Tell us one reason that supports your opinion. Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Include an opposing viewpoint to your main idea, if applicable

A good thesis statement acknowledges that there is always another side to the argument. So, include an opposing viewpoint (a counterargument) to your opinion. Basically, write down what a person who disagrees with your position might say about your topic.



 

Click the button to generate your thesis statement!

 

 

Assignment Calculator

Start Date: - -
Due Date: - -
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library
San José State University

About the Gateway Library

The Gateway Library has a small, curated collection of reference books at each campus but the majority of our resources are online.  Instead of building a library in the middle of campus, we've put students (YOU!) at the center of our library!  Some benefits to this type of library collection include:

  • Access encyclopedias, books, articles, and videos as you need them!
    • As long as you have internet connectivity, books and databases are available to you wherever you are and whenever you need them.
  • Up-to-date and flexible collections!  
    • Digital resources allow for centralized and efficient resource curation.
  • There is more space online! 
    • The Gateway Library has more than 250K eBooks and 20K journals, many more than could fit on campus physically, plus several video services and a comprehensive digital reference collection.

Links in the menu on the left of the page will give you access to videos, books, articles, websites, and even test prep resources for your project or program of study!  These have been curated by the library staff in collaboration with Gateway Faculty.  The intention is to create something interesting and useful for your studies.


Logo: Gateway Library

Search Encyclopedias and other Reference Resources:

Linked Credo Reference logoCredo Reference is a database with more than 270 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks with 3.1 million entries that are linked and interconnected to create a knowledge network.  


Search for Books and Videos:

Check here for tips on using this search interface!


Search the Gateway Databases:

START HERE for an overview of the databases and links to the most-used databases; you'll also find instructions for how to search the databases and navigate your results!


Gateway Library logo

WE HAVE A LIBRARIAN AT EVERY CAMPUS! 

Meet your Gateway librarians:


URBAN METRO CAMPUS

Greetings!  My name is Elizabeth Hartlaub.  I have been the Director of Library and Information Services at Gateway since the Summer of 2020.

I have been a librarian for over 15 years with both public and academic library experience.  Some professional positions I held prior to coming to Gateway are as follows: 

~ Library Operations Manager - UC Blue Ash

~ Branch Manager - Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County

I am originally from Cincinnati and attended Xavier University for my undergraduate degree in International Affairs. My career in libraries started when I worked as a Student Assistant at the XU Library! 

I was a first generation college student and found that the library provided the academic support and empowerment I needed to succeed in my studies. This doesn't go without saying that I also had an amazing group of family, friends, and other academic support at the university to help me along the way.  My advice to any student is that you are not alone as you work through your courses!  Engage with your school and personal support system early and often!

A few years after I graduated from XU, I earned a Master's Degree in Library Science at Indiana University - Bloomington. 

My favorite part of being a librarian is connecting with students and guiding them through the research and information literacy process.  Research is one of my favorite parts of being a librarian and I feel very lucky to be able to do what I love and share that knowledge with others!

In my free time, I love hiking and playing outside with my two children, going to baseball games at Great American Ball Park, and gardening in my small-but-mighty backyard garden.

One fun fact about me is that I started learning French when I was in Kindergarten.  I kept with it all the way through to earning a minor at XU.  I have visited France three times, including living there for 6 months as a part of a study abroad opportunity.  I am really rusty, but I think I can still carry on a conversation if needed.

Contact Elizabeth by...

Email: Elizabeth.Goodman@kctcs.edu

Phone: 859-442-4162

Office Location: UB208 (in the TIE building)


EDGEWOOD CAMPUS

Hello!  My name is Erica Halsey. I am your Library Coordinator and spend my days at the Edgewood Campus, room E105A in the Student Services Center. I can help you learn how to find, access, and evaluate the information that you need to succeed at Gateway and beyond.

Before I became a librarian, I was an architect and an historical archaeologist.  I renovate homes, and research history and genealogy for fun; I am interested in everything, so bring bring me your research questions and let's learn together!  Email, call, or chat if I can help with your information needs.

Contact Erica by...

Email: Erica.Halsey@kctcs.edu

Phone: 859-442-4171

Office Location: E105A (within sight of the Info Commons desk at the Student Services Center)

     ** I'm the librarian closest to the Transportation Technology Center!


BOONE CAMPUS

Priscilla Kapungu

Contact Priscilla by...

Email: Priscilla.Kapungu@kctcs.edu

Phone: 859-442-1163

Office Location: Boone Campus (CAM Building) Ground Floor B05

Hello, my name is Priscilla Kapungu I am your Library Specialist based at the Boone Campus.

I have 20 plus years of experience working in a special-public library at the Department of State's Harare Embassy as the Deputy director, for the Information Resource Center.

Before joining Gateway College I worked as a Customer Support Associate at Cengage Learning Group for four plus years.

One thing I enjoy in my line of work - Information Management, Program Evaluation, Interlibrary Linkages, Information Resources Literacy, is patrons and colleagues alike who are incredibly friendly and willing and ready to ask questions.

Fun fact about me is, I strongly believe in the the spirit of Ubuntu - namely “I am because we are…”


URBAN METRO CAMPUS - IC DESK

Hello. My name is Adam Thurman. I work as a leader at the Gateway Information Commons - usually at the Covington TIE campus - and also work broadly with the library to provide information literacy, outreach, and reference services to the classes I am embedded with.

I have worked at Gateway since 2015, receiving my MLIS from Wayne State University in Michigan, after leaving an internship at Xavier University's library. My primary areas of interest were and are how to best catalog, curate, and organize information to make it easy to learn from and use.

As you might expect, I enjoy reading and researching history for fun.

Please note that the best way to contact me is by email. If you need to meet in person, I will schedule an appointment by email. I try to reply to all emails made during the work week within 24 hours.

Given my role extends beyond traditional library services, I would encourage those who are embedded in my classes to contact me for more general questions, as well as research related ones: If I cannot find an answer for you, I can find someone who can!

Contact Adam by...

Email: AThurman0026@kctcs.edu

Phone: 859-442-1122

Office Location: UC - TIE Information Commons desk


Gateway Library logo


Gateway Library logo

Make an Appointment

Use this form to make an in-person or virtual One-on-One Appointment !


Use the Chat Pop-up ~or~ Text Us @ 859-765-1265ew! Send us a text-message to ask a question about the Gateway Library!

    Please be sure to provide your name and email address so we can follow-up in more detail if needed.

 


Gateway Library logo

 
***Adapted from Ashford University***

State your topic

Your topic is the essential idea of your paper. It is usually a few words or a phrase that summarizes the subject of your paper. For your thesis statement, try to make your topic as specific as possible.

State your main idea about this topic

What are you trying to state or prove about your topic? What are you trying to persuade the reader to believe? When stating your opinion, be sure to:

  • express one major ideal
  • name the topic and assert something specific about it
  • take a stance on an issue that you can support with facts and reasons.
  • state your position on or opinion about the issue.

Give a reason that supports your main idea

Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Give another reason that supports your main idea

Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Give one more reason that supports your main idea

Tell us one reason that supports your opinion. Write your reason as a clear statement. Be sure that you can support this reason with logical facts and evidence.

Include an opposing viewpoint to your main idea, if applicable

A good thesis statement acknowledges that there is always another side to the argument. So, include an opposing viewpoint (a counterargument) to your opinion. Basically, write down what a person who disagrees with your position might say about your topic.



 

Click the button to generate your thesis statement!

 

 

Use this Assignment Calculator to determine when you should complete each part of a writing project, such as research papers and speeches! (1)

Image of calendar, pen, and calculator linked to assignment calculatorUsage: CC-BY-2.0 held by: photosteve101 on Flickr


1. University of Minnesota Libraries. (n.d.). Assignment calculator. University of Minnesota. Retrieved May 24, 2022, from https://www.lib.umn.edu/services/ac