HMS 103: Journal Article Analysis & Critique

A survey in the field of psychoanalysis.

Illustrated throughout with clinical examples, it provides an up-to-date source of reference for a wider range of mental health professionals as well as those training in psychoanalysis, psychotherapy or counselling.

A good introduction to the key concepts and theories that inform and frame the current psychotherapeutic and counselling landscape. Each author has written on a selection of basic concepts as they are approached in their preferred therapeutic modality, resulting in an exciting and inclusive overview of both old and contemporary psychotherapeutic thought.

This book addresses many practical dimensions of the Adlerian group process, including: forming a group relationship; creating a democratic and accepting climate; conducting psychological assessments; increasing the awareness and insight of group members; translating group insight into action; methods of re-education through encouragement; and building on personal strengths discovered within the group experience.

Chapter 3 describes Adlerian therapy as an analytic, behavioral, and cognitive form of psychotherapy.

The I-CBT system is currently being utilized to treat child, adolescent and adult patients struggling with an array of mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder, and attentional deficit disorders. Additionally, other mental health issues that affect these patients. The I-CBT approach was designed to address and correct problems associated with America's struggling mental health system. The I-CBT model incorporates pre-existing, highly effective clinical methods such as cognitive-behavioral therapy emotional intelligence and behavioral training for patients, professionals and parents “and other effective psychological and psychiatric practices” into one integrative, structured and easily comprehensive treatment system.

Edited by Steven C. Hayes and Stefan G. Hofmann, and based on the new training standards developed by the Inter-Organizational Task Force on Cognitive and Behavioral Psychology Doctoral Education, this groundbreaking textbook presents the core competencies of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) in an innovative, practically applicable way, with contributions from some of the luminaries in the field of behavioral science.

Provides those interested in the solution-focused approach with a plethora of ideas for practice, training, and simply enjoying the solution-focused approach and its practice in therapy, consulting, coaching, and training

Narrative and language-based therapies help clients to see their presenting problems as separate from themselves through the assumption that they have many skills and competencies that will enable them to reduce the influence of problems in their lives. This highly accessible, step-by-step guide to incorporating principles of narrative and language-based approaches to therapy into practice demystifies these techniques for therapists and counselors in training. Illustrated with concrete examples and findings from empirical research, the text helps readers to understand the importance of language and narrative in the therapeutic alliance and to apply language- and narrative-based principles in counseling and psychotherapy.

Provide a comprehensive model for effectively blending the two main postmodern brief therapy approaches: solution-focused and narrative therapies. Provides an overview of the history of both models and outlines their differences, similarities, limitations and strengths. It then demonstrates how to blend these two approaches in working with such issues as trauma, addictions, grief, relationship issues, family therapy and mood issues. Each concern is illustrated with a case study from practice with individual adults, adolescents, children, and families. Useful client dialogue and forms are included to help the clinician guide clients in practice. Each chapter concludes with a summary describing and reinforcing the principles of the topic and a personal exercise so the reader can experience the approach first hand.

This accessible guide to Solution Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT), an effective therapeutic approach which focuses on strengths and achievements, provides a practical introduction to what SFBT is and how to use it with clients. Case studies are included to demonstrate the ideas and techniques presented. This book will be invaluable to all those in the helping professions who are either already familiar with SFBT and want to improve their knowledge, or are looking for new and effective ways to communicate with and help the people they work with.

.The text moves beyond traditional approaches with expanded coverage of relationship-centered and post-modern theories such as Dialectic Behavior Therapy, Emotion Focused Therapy, Solution-Focused Brief Therapy, Narrative Therapy, and others. Each theory is explored in depth through the use of a student-mentor dialogue that examines and debates the challenges that arise with each theory. The book also addresses the counseling role in psychiatric case management, reflecting the growing reality of cross-professional collaboration.

The Dictionary of Existential Psychotherapy and Counselling is a comprehensive lexicon of existential terms, their meaning and application. With over 350 entries (cross-referenced throughout), the book is the ideal companion to studying the the ideas of existential pioneers, such as Kierkegaard, Heidegger and Sartre.

This multi-author anthology is a short introduction to the world of existential psychotherapy, and specifically Existential Analysis. It gives concrete answers and demonstrates a way to apply this thinking in practice, providing outlines of its theoretical background, including Alfried Langle's four fundamental motivations.

Drawing on feminist theory, Jocelyn Chaplin points to the deeply entrenched, hierarchical ways of thinking which permeate every level of our lives. The author presents an alternative rhythm model that when applied in counselling increases self-confidence, `wholeness′ and improved relationships. In this model, the counsellor is not seen as the expert or the doctor, and the client is not a patient. They are two equal but different people using `clues′ to understand and improve the life of the client. To illustrate, the author includes vivid case examples throughout.

This book outlines a compelling new agenda for feminist theories of identity and social relations. Using Lacanian psychoanalysis with feminist epistemology, the author sets out a groundbreaking psychoanalytic social theory. Campbell's work offers answers to the important contemporary question of how feminism can change the formation of gendered subjectivities and social relations.

What is integrative psychotherapy? How effective is the integrative approach to therapy? And what are its limitations? Answering these and other significant questions, this insightful volume provides the working clinician with a practical guide to using an integrative approach to psychotherapy.

This book presents a comprehensive integrative theory and style of therapeutic involvement that reflects a relational and non-pathological perspective. It discusses various psychotherapy theories and methods, and examines the implications and magnitude of an involved therapeutic-relationship.

This second edition provides a state-of-the-art, comprehensive description of psychotherapy and its clinical practices by leading proponents. In addition to updates of all of the chapters, the new edition features: (1) eight new chapters covering topics such as cognitive-analytic therapy, integrative psychotherapy with culturally diverse clients, cognitive-behavioral analysis system, and blending spirituality with psychotherapy, (2) an entirely new section with two chapters on assimilative integration, (3) updated reviews of the empirical research on integrative and eclectic treatments, (4) chapter guidelines that facilitate comparative analyses and ensure comprehensiveness, and (5) a summary outline to help readers compare the integrative approaches.

Essays on aspects of analytical therapy, specifically the transference, abreaction, and dream analysis. Contains an additional essay, 'The Realities of Practical Psychotherapy,' found among Jung's posthumous papers.

he book focuses specifically on the distinctive model of supervision used in Marriage and Family Therapy and further examines the unique supervisory issues arising within different approaches to the profession. Distinguished by its use of a single case example across chapters to help clarify how different theories differ and overlap, the book embraces the full range of theoretical approaches, in addition to featuring a “nuts and bolts” approach to the day-to-day fundamentals of MFT supervision.Grounded in the most up-to-date literature, the text discusses methods and issues of MFT supervision within multigenerational, structural, cognitive-behavioral, narrative, feminist, integrative, brief, and other supervision models.

There are many different models of marriage and family therapy; the challenge for students and beginning practitioners is deciding which one best suits their individual purposes. This highly practical volume elucidates the defining characteristics of 14 contemporary models, including their history, views of change, views of family and the role of the therapist; and methods of assessing family dynamics, goal setting; facilitating change; and knowing when to terminate. Each chapter also includes a template for implementing therapy models, and realistic case studies-many drawn from actual practice-to illustrate how each model would address common issues.

This book offers a clear, readable overview of all the knowledge and skills those training as marriage and family therapists and counselors need to pass final degree program, certification or licensing examinations. It is organized into three sections: Basic Clinical Knowledge and Skills, Common Client Problems, and Career Issues. Each chapter includes challenging study questions that enable readers to assess their own level of understanding.

Much relationship counselling today is conducted by generalist psychologists, social workers, and counsellors. Yet there is a strong case for a greater role for clinical psychologists. Accurate assessment during couples therapy is essential, the dynamics between people are complex, and the process is potentially very demanding of clinical skills. This book provides an opportunity to make the argument for greater involvement in relationship counselling by the clinical psychology profession and to guide both clinical students and practitioners toward an informed and integrated approach to relationship counselling, drawing on the best evidence-based treatments.

Dr. Combs updates his groundbreaking Field Theory of personality. This model grows out of Carl Rogers'ideas on client-centered therapy and has long been a major influence on theories of psychotherapy and personality within the humanistic and phenomenological traditions.

Extensively updated to include clinical findings over the last two decades, this third edition of A Practitioner's Guide to Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy reviews the philosophy, theory, and clinical practice of Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (REBT).

Rational Emotive Behavioural Counselling in Action, Third Edition is invaluable for trainees of REB counselling, as well as those who want to incorporate elements of the approach into their own therapeutic work.

Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy Integrated provides a comprehensive view of REBT, and presents a vivid account of Dr Ellis'life and his contributions to the development of REBT. It covers REBT's historical development, ABC (activating events, belief system and consequences) framework, theoretical and philosophical foundations, relationship with various religions, atheism and morality, therapeutic process and techniques, and practical applications.