LibGuides: Education: Journals/Trade Publications/Databases

Journals

Generative artificial intelligence in secondary education: Applications and effects on students' innovation skills and digital literacy.
As generative artificial intelligence (AI) rapidly transforms educational landscapes, understanding its impact on students' core competencies has become increasingly critical for educators and policymakers. Despite growing integration of AI technologies in classrooms, there remains a significant knowledge gap regarding how these tools influence the development of essential 21st-century skills in secondary education contexts. This study addresses this gap by investigating the relationships between generative AI applications and two critical student outcomes: innovation capability and digital literacy.
Grounding General Education in Principles That Matter
AAC&U s General Education Maps and Markers (GEMs), a framework for designing and evaluating curricula and programs, emphasizes pathways for student success and progress and advocates for institutional consideration in the general education redesign process. With acknowledgment of students' movement among nstitutions, as well as their own life circumstances, GEMs brings focus to redesign efforts for institutions, systems, and states. This issue of Peer Review highlights best practices in efforts from across our nation using the five GEMs design principles for general education
Kentucky Teacher: a publication of the KY Dept of Education
The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) publishes Kentucky Teacher to communicate directly with the state’s 40,000 public school teachers. The stories of this award-winning publication include news, perspectives, and practical, workable ideas for guiding students to higher levels of achievement.
THE REVIEW | OPINION
On November 19, New College of Florida adopted a new core curriculum that dramatically reduced the number of courses in the faculty-recommended general-education curriculum. In the humanities, this restrictive approach went even further, requiring all students to meet the state's general-ed humanities requirement by taking a single course on Homer's Odyssey. Ostensibly designed to promote a "classical liberal-arts" education, New College's new curriculum in effect reduced the "great books" to just one.
Teacher-student empathic relationship shaping: an elimination mechanism for psychological segmentations in entrepreneurship education
Entrepreneurship education aims to provide talent to support the innovative development of society. Previous studies have focused on the educational significance of the promoting entrepreneurial intention, and few have paid attention to the psychological differentiation caused by the incomprehension between teachers and students.
The Year in Public Opinion on U.S. K-12 Education Policy.
A review of surveys finds Americans want schools to refocus on teaching and learning. It can be difficult to keep track of all of the contemporary debates roiling the politics of education. On any given day, news headlines might be highlighting our sharp disagreements over how best to teach about race and racism in America's past and present, the rights of gay and transgender students (and their parents), the passage of new school choice legislation, the ongoing legacy of pandemic-era learning loss, rising rates of chronic absenteeism, or the value of cell phones and artificial intelligence in schools--to name a few.

Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)

A general database covering a vast range of topics sourced from historical through current resources. Be sure to select “full-text” for immediately accessible content!
Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 writers, editors, and international correspondents.
Credo Reference (Infobase)

Credo is a vast reference database with general and specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. with faceted searching cross-referenced with other library databases.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center (Ebsco)

ERIC provides access to education literature and resources through journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.