PSY 298: Abnormal Psychology

Examines emergent research on the identification and epidemiology of various mental illnesses. Features information on the prevalence of the disease, psychopharmacological advancements, and strategies for the management of chronic mental illnesses.

Divided into three parts, the book presents an overview of major theories, statistical methods, and measurement instruments, including:Seven influential models of personality and psychopathology Four statistical methods for use in taxonomy, diagnosis, similarities and differences between normal and abnormal personality, and genetic and environmental influences Problems and pitfalls in designing empirical studies in the realm of normal-abnormal personality Empirically-based introductions and reviews of five widely-used instruments for assessing normal-abnormal personality

Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.

In this manual, the authors -- all of them practicing mental health clinicians -- distill the most relevant information that nonpsychiatric physicians, psychiatric residents, and experienced psychiatrists and psychotherapists need to fully understand this specific modality.

`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'.- Journal of Analytical Psychology`This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings.

Using a combination of mnemonics, practical techniques, and phrasing examples that illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, this manual helps clinicians establish a rapport with patients, gain valuable clinical insights, and improve interviewing skills, breaking down this complex area into concise information they can put to use immediately in their practice.

Psychological Interventions in Early Psychosis provides a comprehensive overview of the emerging research and clinical evidence base for psychological treatments across the phases of early psychosis. Beginning with identified at-risk young people, the text continues through to those in acute and recovery phases, to the needs of patients with persistent symptoms.

The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Anxiety, Trauma, and OCD-Related Disorders addresses the origin, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of these disorders in a comprehensive, up-to-date, and compelling manner.

Anxiety Disorders: DSM-5® Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5®. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing anxiety disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients. The disorder-specific resource is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5® collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession.

Each of the adult anxiety disorders (panic disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, specific phobias, obsessive-compulsive disorder and posttraumatic stress disorder) is presented in a separate chapter of this volume. As the rich description of each disorder is a prerequisite for their recognition, understanding and diagnosis, the book focuses on clinical features, psychopathology and the corresponding conceptual issues.

Recently developed psychosocial treatments for anxiety disorders reflect the systematic influence of scientifically generated knowledge, and these new treatments yield strong results. Research in such areas as information processing, cognition, behavioral avoidance, and the physiological components of anxious arousal has increased our knowledge of mediators that cause and maintain anxiety disorders.

This book consists of five chapters that provide details on the effects of OCD and strategies for reducing its negative impact.

Written by a therapist among the most experienced in the world in dealing with this disorder, this book covers the incidence, symptoms, diagnosis, history, development, and causes, as well as the effects and costs of OCD. It also addresses theory, research, and treatments and offers insight into and case studies illustrating how the disorder displays in society, at work, and in relationships. A glossary of terms, suggested further readings, and resource websites and organizations listing are included.

The book begins with a description of PTSD and other related problems, often experienced by survivors, a short history of the developments in the field, information on common responses to trauma, theory, assessment, treatment and research findings. Further chapters reflect new theoretical thinking and directions in the field of trauma including post-traumatic growth following adversity. New chapters to this edition address the impact of traumatic bereavement, the needs of ex-hostages and their families, and suggestions for self-help after trauma.

Both academically rigorous and clinically practical, Trauma- and Stressor-Related Disorders is fully informed by the new DSM-5 category that includes adjustment disorders, acute stress disorder, and posttraumatic stress disorder.

This classic text has been updated and revised for our times, reflecting changes in DSM-5, which introduced a new category of diagnoses called trauma- and stressor-related disorders. This new edition updates treatment recommendations for these disorders and emphasizes formulation for determining appropriate therapeutic strategies.

The book is structured for learning and easy reference, moving deftly from symptomatology and epidemiology to pathogenesis and on to somatic interventions, cognitive-behavioral interventions, and psychotherapy.

In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the symptoms, management and risk factors of bipolar disorder.

This new book presents topical research in the study of bipolar disorder, including its genetic basis, the clinical characteristics and neuropsychological performance of its different subtypes, social cognition dimensions, and assessment instruments and rehabilitation strategies in bipolar disorder. Cognitive impairment in bipolar disorders, as well as comorbid autism spectrum disorders and bipolar disorder in adolescence are also discussed.

This guide discusses: • what bipolar disorder is • the symptoms, patterns and causes • the treatment options • what to expect during recovery from an episode of mania or depression • how partners and family members can be supportive and helpful. This newly revised guide will help people with bipolar disorder, along with their families and friends, to navigate through the highs and lows toward recovery.

Depression is both an overused term and, too often, a poorly managed condition. The authors have written this short text to help explain depression: its symptoms, causes, and risks; its impact; and how it can be identified, treated, and prevented.

This book addresses a significant gap in existing scholarly literature on melancholia, depression, and mood disorders by offering a contextualized and critical perspective on the history of melancholia in the first decades of psychiatry, from the 1830s until the turn of the twentieth century.

The editorial team and contributors -- two-thirds of whom are new to this edition -- have taken the intersection of suicide with both mental health and psychosocial issues as their organizing principle, exploring risk assessment and epidemiology in special populations, such as elderly patients, college students, military personnel, and the incarcerated as well as patients with a variety of psychological disorders, including bipolar spectrum, personality, depressive, anxiety, posttraumatic stress, and other disorders and schizophrenia.

Although clinicians cannot unerringly predict which patients will die by suicide, they can focus more successfully on early identification of suicidal behavior and effective intervention, and this new edition of the clinical manual thoroughly explores not only assessment of suicidality but what comes after an at-risk patient has been identified. The authors argue that treating specific psychiatric disorders is not enough to prevent suicide, and they offer clinicians the necessary information and strategies to bridge that gap. The authors'main premise is that suicide is a dangerous and short-term problem-solving behavior designed to regulate or eliminate intense emotional pain -- a quick fix where a long-term effective solution is needed -- and this understanding is the underpinning of the assessment and treatment strategies the authors recommend.

The book summarizes relevant data on suicide in countries belonging to different cultures and geographical areas. Specifically, the e-book discuses the relationship between suicide prevention agencies including government organizations; what the important issues are and what can be learned from different contests. Readers will learn how the many factors underlining suicide risk come into play in the determination and precipitation of risk. Cultural aspects are highlighted to provide explanation for the different scenarios regarding suicide.

Key Features: Analyzes suicide letters to provide students with unique perspectives not found in other books. Covers investigative techniques that will be of interest to professionals and students alike Includes carefully selected photos to explicate the material covered. Categorizes suicide into different types including anomic, egoistic, altruistic, and fatalistic to distinguish the various reasons for which people have taken their own lives Integrates notes within the chapters to show the state of mind for those who commit suicide. Explores learnings from suicidal behavior to help readers recognize how better to prevent the practice.

This book discusses the rates of suicidal behavior in inmates, risk factors, and provides a review on how these aspects may differ by offender type (female, juvenile, violent, and sex offenders). An assessment of reasons for living is provided with the hope that it may bolster long-term risk evaluation and may contribute to the clinical tools available to therapists working with high-risk clients.

Conversion disorder—a psychiatric term that names the enigmatic transformation of psychic energy into bodily manifestations—offers a way to rethink the present. With so many people suffering from unexplained bodily symptoms; with so many seeking recourse to pharmacological treatments or bodily modification; with young men and women seemingly willing to direct violence toward anybody, including themselves—a radical disordering in culture insists on the level of the body.

Hypochondriasis and Health Anxiety: A Guide for Clinicians, edited by Vladan Starcevic and Russell Noyes and written by prominent clinicians and researchers in the field, addresses current issues in recognizing, understanding, and treating hypochondriasis. Using a pragmatic approach, it offers a wealth of clinically useful information. The book also provides a critical review of the underlying conceptual and treatment issues, addressing varying perspectives and synthesizing the current research. Specific topics the text covers include: clinical manifestations, diagnostic and conceptual issues, classification, relationships with other disorders, assessment, epidemiology, economic aspects, course, outcome and treatment.

The book begins with case studies and other examples to make the material accessible, and then proposes step-wise processes of examining family systems to determine if the phenomena exist to a reasonable degree of scientific certainty. After new diagnostic process and criteria are provided, several interventions and recommendations for treatment are offered in a novel way that attends to the core aspects of these pathologies.This text will provide practitioners, professionals, and researchers with a unique vantage point from which to understand and treat these pathologies.

In this new, thoroughly revised and expanded edition of their best-selling work, Drs. Philip S. Mehler and Arnold E. Andersen provide a user-friendly and comprehensive guide to treating and managing eating disorders for primary care physicians, mental health professionals, worried family members and friends, and nonmedical professionals (such as teachers and coaches).

This encyclopedia offers a variety of resources for readers interested in learning more about eating disorders, including hundreds of reference entries, interviews, scholarly debates, and case studies.

This book provides an in-depth review of the prevalence of eating disorders. It also discusses several risk factors, and available treatment options for those suffering from eating disorders.

This book presents current research in the study of substance abuse. Topics discussed include cocaine-dependent patients with antisocial personality disorder; drug abuse and neuro-AIDS; alcohol and substance abuse among older adults; sexual abuse in men with substance abuse problems; cognitive dysfunction in cocaine abuse; current controversies in the assessment and treatment of heroin addiction; psychotropic analgestic nitrous oxide (PAN) for substance abuse withdrawal; carisoprodol withdrawal syndrome and new research on methamphetamine abuse.

This unique guide deftly defines addiction and examines its comorbidity with other problems. Subsequent chapters present an overview of addictive disorders coupled with strategies for accurately diagnosing them, planning effective treatment, and selecting appropriate interventions.

This book discusses the influences, treatment options and health effects of substance abuse.

This go-to resource on substance abuse supplies the broad background knowledge and historical information needed to understand this important sociological issue and provides readers with a range of additional sources for continuing their study of the topic.

The American Psychiatric Association Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Patients With Schizophrenia seeks to reduce these substantial psychosocial and public health consequences for the individuals affected by schizophrenia. The guideline focuses specifically on evidence-based pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for schizophrenia and includes statements related to assessment and treatment planning, which are an integral part of patient-centered care.

The new edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Schizophrenia plumbs the current state of knowledge about the disorder's origin, nature, and treatment in a comprehensive, authoritative, and thoroughly revised text.

Because schizophrenia is considered to be one of the most complicated and severe psychiatric disorders, this book has the goal of summarizing key issues of the illness, such as its presentation, frequency and age of onset, and diagnostic characteristics. It also contains informative chapters about the pathophysiology of schizophrenia, ranging from brain development issues, genetics, and likely abnormalities in neurotransmitters.

Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorder: DSM-5® Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5®. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients.

The book provides a history of conceptual models contributing to the definition and diagnosis of Borderline Personality Disorder, and explains the development and evolution of current diagnostic criteria in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of the American Psychiatric Association, Fifth Edition (DSM 5).

In Personality Disorders, Allan V. Horwitz traces the evolution of defining these disorders and the historical dilemmas of attempting to mold them into traditional medical conceptions of disorder.

Chapters focus on important parameters such as symptoms, diagnosis, incidence, history, development, causes, effects, and costs.

The trusted core disability textbook gets a comprehensive update in this second edition, now thoroughly revised to include all the critical topics today's professionals need to know about as they work with people who have intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Written by an eminent group of international experts, Conduct and Oppositional Defiant Disorders: Epidemiology, Risk Factors, and Treatment offers the first comprehensive cutting-edge overview of all the major aspects of conduct disorder (CD) and oppositional defiant disorder (ODD) in children and adolescents.

Take a journey through one of the most costly psychiatric disorders: Conduct Disorder. Explore why children in the same environment as a child with conduct disorder are more affected than the child diagnosed with the problem. Delve into the reasons most practicing clinicians of conduct disorder are influenced more so by the persons they treat and their desire to refine theoretical understanding of others and improve their methods of helping than by empirical research.

Deconstructing ADHD: Mental Disorder or Social Construct? is the third volume of the Ethics International Press Critical Psychology and Critical Psychiatry Series.

Inside the Child's Head traces the emergence of biomedical diagnoses of behavior disorders in children. It provides a new critical counterpoint to the kind of ‘myth-or-reality'debate on childhood disorders.

This book tackles specific problems of bullying, separation anxiety and panic attacks, and provides information on current therapies and medication, and what to do if the child regresses.

This essential guide provides accessible, concise, evidence-based guidelines on Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), offering a deeper scientific understanding of the condition and its consequences.